You Amaze Me!

Courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

Courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

Has anyone amazed you recently?  Who has fascinated you to the point of awe and wonder…?

Well I was amazed when the story unfolded about Felix Baumgartner.  Not sure of the name – Well maybe you heard about the man who jumped from outer space to earth.

I could not comprehend the man nor the mentality to complete such an audacious achievement.  Now, I know this was not a thought he conjured up today and fulfilled in  a few weeks, months or even years.  It took years of practice,  a lot of experience, who knows how much boundary pushing, personal sacrifices, failures maybe even hurts.  Plus the support of a team of highly skilled people, sponsors and family to enable him to achieve such a goal.

The focus and belief  to strive for and achieve such a goal, totally stunned me, WOW!

This is one of his many quotes:-

Everyone has limits but not everyone accepts them.    

 Felix Baumgartner

I reflected on the whole event and something I heard him say during an interview on TV.  The host showed him a photo of him standing at the edge, looking down to earth just before he jumped and asked ‘weren’t you scared at the thought of falling?” His response was in a nutshell ‘no’.  His explanation was along the lines of because I had practice the jump may times and the team were excellent in what they did and I had total confidence in them.  Falling to earth was fine.   I knew I was getting nearer to home.  It was more frightening ascending, because I was moving further away from home and family.

Who thinks like that?  How you think – your attitude to challenges, is what defines most people and separates  the ordinary and extra-ordinary.  His response totally flipped the question on its head.  Where fear and limitations would exist for 99% of us he had strived to illuminate them.

I read and re-read the above quote and asked myself, what were my limits? How often do I accept them and give in

Its strange or ironic, being the reflective person that I am, but over thinking to the point ‘paralysis by analysis’ is very much a limitation of mine.  I have encountered it time and time again in my life time.  I question, I discuss, I reason and I agree myself into non-action, or at worse cancellation  and giving up, time and time again.   Over thinking, never works alone, it has friends ‘fear’ and ‘procrastination’ are two, ‘self doubt’ is another.

It is understood that if a behaviour pattern or response is repeated regularly, it eventually forms a habit.  If this habit is anchored by strong beliefs you can even perceived it as how you are naturally.  Seeing no possibility of change.

Sounds familiar?  So how do I get past myself?  how do I get past these persuasive thoughts?  I needed to devise a strategy or plan.  I have learnt to ask myself ‘what will I get if I don’t do it?  What do I have to lose? If I don’t try, how will I ever know? Finally am I willing to accept this as my limit?

Everyone needs to push their comfort zone and step outside of it at times.  Yes things can fail, but what about when they go right?  It’s important to not take failure personally but to be able to look at what happened objectively in order to learn, dust yourself off and move forward.

Do you over think to the point of delay? Or even worse stopping.  Then why not ask yourself these types of questions and start to challenge yourself into action.

Who knows who you may inspire or amaze along life’s way?

 

About aquene7

I am a mother, a grandmother and Christian, all an essential part of who I am. I happened upon Blogging and found out how to mesh something I have done through out my life which was encouraging those who were friends and family and my love of writing. In doing my usual personal development I came in to the world of coaching and totally fell in love with it and I am currently studying to become a Personal Performance/Life Coach with The Coaching Academy. I absolutely love writing and thought this would be good way to combine these three passions in one place. I hope you find my blog does what it says on the tin, which is to encourage readers with positive and motivational posts:-) Update: 23/3/14: I finally decided to put a face to my blog:-)

Posted on October 11, 2013, in Motivation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 427 other followers

