Light Bulb Moments!!

  

   

Ha! Ha! Moments, or ‘OMG !’ Moments are so amazing and unforgettable.    At times they are life changing; It’s like an electrical surge to your brain and your life. Ever had one?   

Well I had one recently whilst looking at the picture in the link below. 

http://www.electricrhetoric.com/d_perception/index.htm

Do you know it?  

It’s the famous Robert Leaper 1935 Perception  Experiment which was used by Stephen covey in his book ‘The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People.’

There are two pictures seemingly combined as one.  People will either see the ‘Old Lady’  or ‘A young women.’  It’s not the first time I have seen this picture, but I only ever saw the ‘Old Women’ until this morning.  When I saw the young women for the first time whilst re-reading  The 7 Habits, it was an ‘OMG’ moment for me, literally!

It amazed me that I had never seen her before.  I then thought Wow!, can more than one truth similarly exist for your own life? Profound..huh?

To be able to see the young women I had to change my visual perspective and I felt the shift, because I had to mentally push against seeing the old woman and hone in on the points to see the young women.  At times I moved from ‘Young to Old, to both all at the same time or at less within fractions of seconds to each other.

Life can be like that. One truth more dominant or real, than the other. But if you ask the right questions and change your visual perspective on your own life, effectively changing your paradigm, the other less obvious and maybe more shaky picture can be your truth.  The more you focus on it, the more fixed it becomes, until what was once the more dominant picture in your life moves and fades and the new picture becomes more strong and evident.

This is change.  What do you want to change in your life?  Is it time to set yourself some new goals?

About aquene7

I am a mother, a grandmother and Christian, all an essential part of who I am. I happened upon Blogging and found out how to mesh something I have done through out my life which was encouraging those who were friends and family and my love of writing. In doing my usual personal development I came in to the world of coaching and totally fell in love with it and I am currently studying to become a Personal Performance/Life Coach with The Coaching Academy. I absolutely love writing and thought this would be good way to combine these three passions in one place. I hope you find my blog does what it says on the tin, which is to encourage readers with positive and motivational posts:-) Update: 23/3/14: I finally decided to put a face to my blog:-)

Posted on October 2, 2013, in Focus. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Glamorous Austa

Beauty, Style & Fashion

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

A frolic through fiction

Looking for all the small magics of the world

She Latitude

Books, book fashion and book reviews.

:: bookslayerReads ::

My Life in All Things Bookish

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

The Inner MIRROR

Meditations - Introspection - Random Realizations - Observations - Reflectios

HeideBlog

Random observations about writing, photography, travel, and life

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

