Be A Catalyst To Change

Changing sky

Changing sky on Brighton Beach – Taken during a photography shoot I attended in 2012.

A Catalyst is described as ‘A substance that increases the rate of a chemical reaction without itself undergoing any permanent chemical change’ (www.google.co.uk )

Being a changer or instigator of change is a pretty important and an essential key to life. Everything within a human perspective, be it good or bad, that impacts our life starts with an idea, followed by action in order to bring that change about.

Change is not always welcomed, at times misunderstood and I can say it is not always good news but, one thing is true. Greatness is not born out of monotony or living life cautiously.

Those who are famous entrepreneurs and leaders aren’t phased by change.  Instead they recognise the importance of change and its timing,  The key is in making the right decisions and moving wisely. Embracing change is definitely a matter of choice and having a positive outlook on things.

If you have ever been through the experience of organisational change where change is driven  from the top down, you will know what it is like to be in the midst of overwhelming change.  You will understand how difficult it is to accept and cope with change if you are on the receiving end.  It can feel like being in the centre of a storm leaving you feeling as you have no control nor any say on the matter.  But the truth is you always do have an element of control. The choice may well boil down to how you handle what’s going on around you.  It may simply be the decision of coming into the place of accepting to only change the things that are within your control to change and leaving whatever sits outside of your control alone.  I like to call this letting go!! choosing to let go of the dead weight.  This could be enough to give you that mental and emotional shift you need so you no longer feel stressed, and somehow knowing it s ok and you can cope.

This is where my faith kicked in whilst I experienced a huge organisational change in a job I had worked in for many  years and I opted for redundancy rather than a job I felt propelled me backwards instead of forwards.  I saw how the pool I was in so to speak, became a pool of sharks for want of a better word and behaviours changed not always for the best.  But I chose to prayer and through that I was given a scripture verse which was enough to anchor me so that I no longer bobbed about with the emotional turmoil in and around me but instead found a place where I started to etch out a clear plan for myself and the months ahead. I decided to bring about changes I controlled and wanted in my life during that time.  The immense fear factor went and I began to look forward to the unknown ahead of me.

I much prefer the thought of being able to bring about change whilst at the same time not changing the key components of yourself.  By this I mean not losing your purpose/sense of who you are; what you are or what you are doing.  This type of change is quiet unique, dynamic and powerful. Effecting your environment in a positive way whilst not being changed detrimentally by that same environment is some achievement.   

I would describe Nelson Mandela as a catalyst.  For while he was in prison he never lost  that sense of who he was nor his purpose. Bear in mind, the aim of most prisons  would be to strip you of your identity. Remove from you whatever society sees as important to making you see yourself as an individual with any worth. But in spite of spending 27 years hard labour in Robben Island Prison, once released, he never allowed bitters and revenge to consume him and so he was able to impact his environment, causing change whilst remaining true to himself. 

The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them.   Einstein

A lot of us believe power is a direct consequence of position.  Therefore if your not in a position of authority you have no power or any leverage.  But this is not true, and some of the most impactful people in society have neither held nor come from positions of power at all, neither have they necessarily been highly educated.  Influence is the most effective, yet intangible gift in my eyes.  If you are listened too, if your views and opinion sort for by others, then you can have a greater impacted than  the managers above you. Why? because you have a VOICE that people want to hear.

To be a catalyst, a person of change, an instigator means you must believe in yourself, believe in who you are and what is your heart.  You may struggle to get affirmation in what you do a lot of the time.  It may well be a lonely road at times but that’s the path of being a leader and not a follower.  You can change things in a small way or on a huge scale the choice is yours but in reaching for greatness understand you will encounter less people the higher up you go.

So if this is you, I just want to say good for you! Continue to be the catalyst in people’s lives.

If your passion is to be a catalyst, a life changer then go for it. The world needs people to have a positive affect on their community.

 

About aquene7

I am a mother, a grandmother and Christian, all an essential part of who I am. I happened upon Blogging and found out how to mesh something I have done through out my life which was encouraging those who were friends and family and my love of writing. In doing my usual personal development I came in to the world of coaching and totally fell in love with it and I am currently studying to become a Personal Performance/Life Coach with The Coaching Academy. I absolutely love writing and thought this would be good way to combine these three passions in one place. I hope you find my blog does what it says on the tin, which is to encourage readers with positive and motivational posts:-) Update: 23/3/14: I finally decided to put a face to my blog:-)

Posted on October 17, 2013, in Focus and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Glamorous Austa

Beauty, Style & Fashion

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

A frolic through fiction

Looking for all the small magics of the world

She Latitude

Books, book fashion and book reviews.

:: bookslayerReads ::

My Life in All Things Bookish

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

The Inner MIRROR

Meditations - Introspection - Random Realizations - Observations - Reflectios

HeideBlog

Random observations about writing, photography, travel, and life

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

