Positioning – A Key To Success

Freedigitalphoto.net

Freedigitalphoto.net

Positioning, a term or concept you are familiar with in Marketing maybe?  I really liked learning about Marketing. Understanding the importance of knowing what your Product/Service was, and how it needed to fit into the wider market (Placement/Positioning).  Understanding where your product/service needed to be and how it was to fit through Pricing.  Were interesting learning curves, and seeing how your product or service needed to be  packaged and Promoted.  The 4P’s also known as The Marketing Mix required that you knew who you customers were, and who your competition was; all valuable information in order for you to understand how to launch yourself into business.

Another sector where you would have heard the term also used is sports – gymnastics, football, formula 1 racing, golf and many others.  Just as in Marketing or in sports, where you are placed matters so much.  Being in the right place at the right time can be the difference between success and failure.

Positioning, is for me, the fore runner to Opportunity, because if you are not in the right place you will not see the opportunity ahead.  Have you ever been in a position where if you hadn’t taken a particular job, helped a particular person, had a particular conversation you would have missed something special in your life? I have. It can only be described as a door within a door.  Until you step through the first door and start walking you would never see the next door, let alone have access to it.

Until you step through the first door and start walking you would never see the next door, let alone have access to it.

These moments in my life I can only describe as ‘spiritually instinctive,’ at best.  I have a drive in my heart and mind to do something and their is no let up.  Sometimes, its even hard for me to explain, all I know is NOW is the time and ‘I have to do a, b, c and d to get to get to ‘e’ by a particular time.’  I don’t have these inner coursings continuously, but I know it well enough to know, not to ignore it when it happens.  Not everything about your future and destiny can be logically explained.  I have lived enough to know when God is directing my life, it becomes more than a gentle hint at times.  Its a clear and distinct drive, ‘you need to go hear!’ or ‘you need to do this!’ These directions are not based on current economic times, having a green light in all directions or people affirming my every move.  If I’m honest, it feels more like I am flowing against the tide of normality and conformity when I look back.  But that’s how God moves. Its not by what you currently see, its about what you see ahead of you, before anyone else does.  Your future or end goal may not be easily understood because the steps leading to it seem massive and impossible to achieve. But is that not always the case? Who can you think of who achieved anything amazing or worthwhile, who had a goal everyone agreed with and believed in all at the same time at the beginning? For Lewis Hamilton, it was only his parents at first until 1995 when he was approached by Ron Dennis from McLaren…… because Lewis was in the right place.

Don’t dispel your internal or spiritual compass of FAITH.  Build it,  persevere through challenges because that’s how it increases.  There are no short cuts to true learning.  Short cuts mean you don’t truly learn and what you end up doing is repeating the same mistake again because you didn’t fully learn.

It is important that along this journey we have a ‘teachable spirit’ without this change is an even more difficult path to follow .

Positioning is about not only being in the right place but being equipped.  Having the correct tools and knowledge for the task ahead. So don’t neglect your learning and development, don’t neglect what you need resource wise either.  I imagine my future like this, its all vey symbolic but this is what I see for me.

My goal is an immense wave and I know where I am in my life right now is the perfect location for the biggest wave ever. But I cannot afford to be caught standing on the beach enjoying the sun whilst looking at the other surfers out there.  I need to be where the waves are.  So I am on my board swimming out, moving to where the big waves are happening.  Things will become more choppy and blustery the closer I get. I have to use more of me to get there. More strength, more focus, scanning, looking, grabbing a wave here and a wave there but still going forward to where I want to be.  All I know is when the big wave comes, that I EXPECT, I have to be in position ready and equipped to ride it, there and then.  If I am still on the beach observing, when the wave comes that I should be riding, by the time I see it immerging, it would be too late for me to get out there, and my opportunity will be gone, because my POSITION was wrong.

Know where you want to be, and know its down to you to make every effort to get thereMake no mistake, God will not do for you what he has enabled you to do for yourself.

About aquene7

I am a mother, a grandmother and Christian, all an essential part of who I am. I happened upon Blogging and found out how to mesh something I have done through out my life which was encouraging those who were friends and family and my love of writing. In doing my usual personal development I came in to the world of coaching and totally fell in love with it and I am currently studying to become a Personal Performance/Life Coach with The Coaching Academy. I absolutely love writing and thought this would be good way to combine these three passions in one place. I hope you find my blog does what it says on the tin, which is to encourage readers with positive and motivational posts:-) Update: 23/3/14: I finally decided to put a face to my blog:-)

Posted on November 5, 2013, in Focus and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Glamorous Austa

Beauty, Style & Fashion

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

A frolic through fiction

Looking for all the small magics of the world

She Latitude

Books, book fashion and book reviews.

:: bookslayerReads ::

My Life in All Things Bookish

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

The Inner MIRROR

Meditations - Introspection - Random Realizations - Observations - Reflectios

HeideBlog

Random observations about writing, photography, travel, and life

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

