Sitting In December 2013 Looking Towards 2014

Blue Horizon - Royale International Group

Blue Horizon – Royale International Group

December is always a funny month. It can be bitter-sweet, and during my life I can say I have experienced both.

It’s the time of the year when you sit in the growing shadows and darkness of the current year whilst the emerging dawn and brightness of the New Year – in this case 2014 emerges.

A year for me, is as a day – all things to all people. For some 2013 will be the best year of their life! To someone else the worst. But for many, their experiences will sit somewhere in between.

December, as I said, is a funny month. For it really has the extremes of life. In the UK, it’s when families look forward to Christmas. They plan and buy gifts, food, drink, decorations on a scale that has the shops salivating, tills ringing, bank accounts dwindling and Credit card companies smiling. If you are a Christian, its the time to celebrate the birth of Christ and children preform their Nativity plays, choirs sing, bells ring.  The family experience is a time of joy and happiness for many like me, because it’s about our children, gran children and the older generation still with us. But for many these are the very things of tears and sadness due to loss, or no family and the reality of a deeper loneliness and isolation or poverty and maybe having or not having the basics for life’s daily needs.

For me December is always a reflective month, but it is also when I look forward in anticipation of the New Year. Most people think about setting their plans and goals in the New Year, I was no different. But for the first time this year I will enter 2014, by God’s grace already knowing what my plans and goals are. Why? Because, I was given a clear direction to start thinking and preparing for 2014 from the mid October.

As a Christian I believe  in times and seasons. What that means, is that  in life there is a purposeful time when you have to do things. You know this, it feels more instinctive than decided, its like a repetitive loop you find difficult to shake off or ignore, ‘spiritually instinctive.’ It’s in your head and your heart to do something, start something or stop something, leave or change something.

I have learnt not to ignore this internal voice for it always pans out to be true. Lots of people will wait until they physical feel and see the rush, before the start to do something.   I have learnt that this is often too late and you have missed the boat. The opportune time is when it’s unseen, yet to happen, but you know or sense it will happen, so you need to action things into motion now. Faith is working on the unseen things as if they already exist.

Faith is working on the unseen things as if they already exist.

Faith is about stepping out and into something, when in your reality nothing may/does not exist to support the dream or vision you have in your heart and head. Like I said in my blog Positioning – A Key to Success if your goal is to be riding the biggest surf of your life and you know you’re in the right location where this is going to happen, the last thing you should be doing is enjoying the sun and scenery on the beach. You need to be already pushing out in the direction of the waves and experiencing the changing sea. Ready to starting catching and riding your warm up waves in anticipation of the Big wave you expect to come.

There are things that I have changed and I am still working on, but this is mostly mental decisions and written things I need to have as a foundation and in place, which I plan to finish soon. If  however, I had left it until January to start I now realise would have meant I would have been around 3 months behind before the year had even started and my dream and the implementation time I had in my head would not have been achievable because they were set without appreciating or understanding how much pre-working I needed to complete in the mean time just for this thinking phase. This is when timing matters. The season matters. Because natural laws remain and do not change. If a farmer wants to reap a particular crop in March/April/May he prepares the land from November, December in order to sow in time around January/February.

Don’t under-estimate what you need to do. It could cost you. So if you know you have something you need to change or start for 2014 should you be waiting for the 1st of January? Are you standing on your warm beach enjoying the distractions? Or should you be where the other surfers are?

Be the change you need to be. Have a good day.

Aquene7

About aquene7

I am a mother, a grandmother and Christian, all an essential part of who I am. I happened upon Blogging and found out how to mesh something I have done through out my life which was encouraging those who were friends and family and my love of writing. In doing my usual personal development I came in to the world of coaching and totally fell in love with it and I am currently studying to become a Personal Performance/Life Coach with The Coaching Academy. I absolutely love writing and thought this would be good way to combine these three passions in one place. I hope you find my blog does what it says on the tin, which is to encourage readers with positive and motivational posts:-) Update: 23/3/14: I finally decided to put a face to my blog:-)

Posted on December 20, 2013, in Focus, Motivation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks JC I look forward to reading more of your blogs:-)

    Like

  2. Hi,
    Yes I see what you mean. We are thinking the same way about ‘seasons’. My preparation started back in November and yours started in October 😉

    Don’t you just love the power of a lesson/parable? Because if we don’t get an understanding of what’s really going on OR why it is going on, we’ll be on the beach gazing, missing the BIG wave.

    So many of my friends are waiting for Jan 1st (a magical day perhaps) to start everything. But since God enlightened me about what we are supposed to be doing in each season, I’ve been encouraging them to start preparing now.

    I just thought about how beautiful and functional the trees look even when they are shedding their leaves and preparing for the winter. We can be just the same. Beautiful and functioning in this season, but wisely reflecting, analyzing and setting our foundation for what the Master has in store 🙂

    I just love HIM 🙂

    Blessings my sister and may you have a blessed New Year 🙂
    JC

    Like

Leave a Reply

Prompts – The Daily Post

You are what you think!! So being certain, being persistent and being focused brings change!!

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Glamorous Austa

Beauty, Style & Fashion

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

A frolic through fiction

Looking for all the small magics of the world

She Latitude

Books, book fashion and book reviews.

:: bookslayerReads ::

My Life in All Things Bookish

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

The Inner MIRROR

Meditations - Introspection - Random Realizations - Observations - Reflectios

HeideBlog

Random observations about writing, photography, travel, and life

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

