Success – Requires You To Show Up!!

I always admire people who can make me to think, look at myself with a view to change or improve something. Brene Brown did just that.  Her well known TED speech ‘The Power of Vulnerability’ that ended up going viral, was on a subject I had never considered as making it a strength.  Yet, the life stories that have impacted me the most, have been from people who chose to expose their vulnerabilities.  Vulnerabilities, they somehow overcame – enough to share their stories, instead of hiding them under the banner of fear and shame.  For whatever reason, they decided to speak out for the benefit of others in the hope of inspiring or encouraging someone else. In the hope of making a difference to even one persons life.

I wrote a post called Mirror, Mirror, Friend or Foe which touched on  the things we choose to expose and the things we often work so hard at hiding.  Another analogy to Maslow’s Window that is used is ‘the iceberg’ because what can be visibly seen above the surface is often small in comparison to what sits below the surface of the water of a persons life.

Brene’s speech talks on vulnerabilities in a way I think is brilliant. I would recommend you give it a watch if you have time.  But the clip I focused on today was another speechshe did about critics. I am definitely a creative. I have always admired art, photography, design and fashion. But writing has always been something I have done. I have written so many things in books and in note pads simply to get things out of my head and heart and down on paper, and for the most part that’s as far as my writing ever got until I started my blog in October 2013. I find it impossible to write without put something of myself into what I have written.  Therefore, with every post I feel I am always putting part of my out there into an unknown arena. But, so it is for most bloggers who write from a personal perspective.

I found Brene’s take on critics and being criticised interesting. Criticism and fear are the biggest reasons for people giving up or stepping back. Choosing instead to not attempt change in their life for one reason or another.  The quote you hear her refer to is this:-

It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again; because there is not effort without error and shortcomings; but who does actually strive to do the deed; who knows the great enthusiasm, the great devotion, who spends himself in a worthy cause, who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement and who at the worst, if he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly. So that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory nor defeat.

Theodore Roosevelt“Man in the Arena” Speech given April 23, 1910

http://www.quotationspage.com/quote/4758.html

It’s ironic being a Coach at times because I find my most frequent client is myself. Overcoming your own personal doubts, fears, inadequacies is a constant thing but also enables me to empathise with people who do not get there in the first move.  In fact, they may find that they stumble time and time again, but this is what makes you a better person not only for yourself but also to others.

Its funny, but the arena is the place where both success and failure are found.  It was the place where life or death were determined. The outcome was based on how well you fought even in situations where it seemed the odds were heavily stacked against you.  The point was to fight because your life depended on it, regardless.   Making your dreams become a reality means you have to ‘show up’ and you have to ‘face your critics and challengers, especially yourself.‘ Somehow, you have to find a way to become the over-comer and the winner of your life.

I believe in growth and I believe in change.  We all have choices to change our life in some way for the better. While we are here I don’t think we should ever settle. We should always continue to strive to be the change you want to be. Hope you enjoy the video until next time.

About aquene7

I am a mother, a grandmother and Christian, all an essential part of who I am. I happened upon Blogging and found out how to mesh something I have done through out my life which was encouraging those who were friends and family and my love of writing. In doing my usual personal development I came in to the world of coaching and totally fell in love with it and I am currently studying to become a Personal Performance/Life Coach with The Coaching Academy. I absolutely love writing and thought this would be good way to combine these three passions in one place. I hope you find my blog does what it says on the tin, which is to encourage readers with positive and motivational posts:-) Update: 23/3/14: I finally decided to put a face to my blog:-)

Posted on March 17, 2014, in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Glamorous Austa

Beauty, Style & Fashion

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

A frolic through fiction

Looking for all the small magics of the world

She Latitude

Books, book fashion and book reviews.

:: bookslayerReads ::

My Life in All Things Bookish

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

The Inner MIRROR

Meditations - Introspection - Random Realizations - Observations - Reflectios

HeideBlog

Random observations about writing, photography, travel, and life

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

