The Road Less Traveled

The Road Less Traveled

 

Two roads diverge in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both,

And be one traveler, long I stood,

And look down one as long I could,

To where it bent in the undergrowth;

 

Then took the other, as just as fair,

And having perhaps the better claim,

Because it was grassy and wanted wear,

Though as for the passing there,

Had worn them nearly about the same,

 

And both that morning equally lay,

In leaves no step had trodden black,

Oh, I kept the first for another day!

Yet knowing how way leads onto way,

I doubted I should ever come back.

 

I shall be telling this with a sigh,

Somewhere ages and ages hence,

Two roads diverge in a wood and I –

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.

 

Robert Frost 1874 -1963

 

The title of this poem I would describe as memorable.  Even if you forget the words of the poem –  the title somehow stays.

It’s easy to see this poem in a very fluffy, and positively profound manner (by the end of this post I will be no different in that regard, hehe!) , but the last verse indicates something quite different.

If you look back on your own life you most probably can relate to forks and bends in the road of your own life.  Decision points – for your life. Do you go straight on, doing the same thing or change direction? Or do you start something, knowing you cannot see clearly all the way? You have no idea where this particular decision will lead?

How often have we made decisions knowing in our hearts we will never go down the alternative route at any point, but we still may say in conversation or within our own minds – “oh I will do this now, and later I will do the other,when its more convenient?”  I know I have done all of those things, and the truth is, so have millions before and so will millions after.  For me ‘The Road Less Traveled‘ is the ultimate or highest view of life. Not from just an individual perspective but from the view of human existence on a whole. Regardless, of what country you were born in, status you hold, or all the other myriads that give you your identity. These ultimate life paths do one of two things – get you to where you need to be or deter you in a direction you later find, wasn’t right for you, for whatever reason.  Two paths,  that truthfully billions travel along each day, and I would say two junctions, that recur time and time again.

This ultimately forms and shapes part of your life story. So how do you tell it?  Will it be simply and honestly? Or will there be the tweak here and the tweak there in order to give the decision you made more uniqueness and kudos than what it was? ‘A Road Less Traveled’ where the path taken, can turn out to be not quite what you thought it to be.You then choose to see it and portray it with a little more mystic and adventure to it, possibly? Way more dramatic than a cross roads where one path was as equally worn as the other, because the truth is so many go down both.

two-roads-in-a-yellow-wood

But in saying all of that.  Every life is unique and there is an outcome that will be new to the individual even though many have experienced something similar and along the same lines throughout the world.

 The Road Less Traveled’ does have that edge of mystic and adventure for me about it, and yes there are times when I can say a decision point feels like ‘deja vu’ again.  But the truth is, none of us can ever go back, as our lives continually tick forward.  So no decision ever falls exactly the same. It’s always a slightly different scenario one way or another, but requiring that key decision to be made again.  The key is, was the lesson learned as you traveled along the path? Are you where or on your way to where you want to be? Can you say that for you ‘I have taken the road less traveled’ the one that ended stretching me the most. Teaching me and bringing me to the best place.  The place that truly has made all the difference?

For me I would like to be able after ages have passed be able to recant my life without the ‘sigh’. But instead with pride and a true sense of completeness knowing there was truly nothing more I could do or nothing I would change.  Because, I truly experienced the ultimate ‘difference’ out there for me and my life.

 

Be the change you want to be, always.  Until next time.

 

Aquene7 = Peace

Posted on June 22, 2014, in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Glamorous Austa

Beauty, Style & Fashion

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

A frolic through fiction

Looking for all the small magics of the world

She Latitude

Books, book fashion and book reviews.

:: bookslayerReads ::

My Life in All Things Bookish

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

The Inner MIRROR

Meditations - Introspection - Random Realizations - Observations - Reflectios

HeideBlog

Random observations about writing, photography, travel, and life

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

