Life Begins at 50!

life_begins_at_50My 50th post and my 50th Birthday!

Life begins at fifty – A great statement and today’s declaration, for it is indeed my 50th birthday and that is exactly how I feel!  50 and proud of it!!

It’s a serious milestone in life, and one of those occasions when you stop, reflect and either appreciate your life or despair.  Well, there is no room for Misery & her friends Despair and Disappointment in this life.

What is it about being 50?  Well, my children are grown and on their own life’s journey, requiring less hand holding, and more guidance if anything now.  I am shaping my Coaching Business and meeting new people whilst stretching my own personal development into new areas and challenging myself.

My health is great and I know more about looking after myself now than I did when I was 24 and wondering could I support myself as new  mum?

ladies-quentin-blake-50th-birthday-card-754-p[ekm]233x233[ekm]

Being 50 is certainly an absolute contrast to being twenty-four, that’s for sure. As a woman at twenty-four, I had issues about my looks, questions about what I wanted to do, questions about being a young mother, questions about owning my first home, questions about everything? Not just any old questions either, but all those big questions, to which you can only find out the answers by living your life and gaining the experience.

Well, I lived and have now reach that place of being very happy with myself and my own skin as a black women. Not because of a relationship ( I am of the mind no one should give you that feeling YOU. It’s a point you need to find for yourself with God). But I am very happy with myself, in that I love who I am and I love who I am becoming – because, of course, the journey continues.  I am at a place where I accept and embrace me, knowing my strengths and understanding my weaknesses and being accepting of them.  I am no longer controlled by the views of others, like I was when I was in my teens and early twenties.  At 50, I just love the feel of having a firm grip on my life!

Coaching has so helped me in reaching this place and that is why I love it because it’s empowering. I certainly do not see my self as a ‘silver surfer’ nor do I feel  ‘I am over the hill and past it!’  Yes, my reality and perspective is that I am nearer 60 than 20. But, the question for me now to consider is ‘where is my legacy?’  I could focus on the fun element.  Being independent, having a fantastic social life, striving for that amazing relationship but that’s not it for me. Those are things that are done in conjunction with…

Now, some will see their children and grandchildren as their legacy and for me they are to some extent. But it’s about investing in others outside of my immediate family. It’s about impacting lives, making a difference and lives being positively changed. ‘Its living a purposeful and intentional life.’

So yet another milestone. Another transition.

What does it mean to be fifty today? I know I cannot relate to the images of being 50 in 60’s and 70’s –  people just seemed to be mentally and physically old.  Where as today, I think there are many like myself with a mature but young attitude on life. This is reflected in their image and how they carry themselves and how they relate to others.

So I am 50 and happy!

So why not use you age as a strength, don’t see it as a limitation or a demise of who you are. Life is for living at any point and every day.  These women make powerful statements and both lead to having a great outlook on life.

So how do I finish my post today, well I think with one of my favourite poems, said in a way only the author could. ‘Still I Rise’ by Dr Maya Angelou

Continue to be the change you want to be, until next time.

 

Aquene7 = Peace

 

 

About aquene7

I am a mother, a grandmother and Christian, all an essential part of who I am. I happened upon Blogging and found out how to mesh something I have done through out my life which was encouraging those who were friends and family and my love of writing. In doing my usual personal development I came in to the world of coaching and totally fell in love with it and I am currently studying to become a Personal Performance/Life Coach with The Coaching Academy. I absolutely love writing and thought this would be good way to combine these three passions in one place. I hope you find my blog does what it says on the tin, which is to encourage readers with positive and motivational posts:-) Update: 23/3/14: I finally decided to put a face to my blog:-)

Posted on June 27, 2014, in Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. 50th is the year of your jubilee, celebrate it! Life is beautiful and somewhat different at 50. Since you are celebrating all year, happy birthday! 🙂

    Like

  2. Happy birthday, then (this is more than a month late, I guess 🙂 )

    Like

Leave a Reply

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Glamorous Austa

Beauty, Style & Fashion

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

A frolic through fiction

Looking for all the small magics of the world

She Latitude

Books, book fashion and book reviews.

:: bookslayerReads ::

My Life in All Things Bookish

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

The Inner MIRROR

Meditations - Introspection - Random Realizations - Observations - Reflectios

HeideBlog

Random observations about writing, photography, travel, and life

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

