Life is a Journey, Not A Destination

I have spoken about the importance of gratitude a number of times in my posts and today I will be going there once again. Why? Well I have a lot to be grateful for and gratitude is something we should evoke in our lives, daily

After a year of studying, and completing numerous pro bono coaching sessions,  I am pleased to say I am now a qualified coach!  It has been an amazing journey and today besides acknowledging God who made it possible for me, I also acknowledge a special lady who entered my life around October 2011.

Her name was Grace. She encouraged me so much and there was just something about her that made me want to step-up in what I was doing. She introduced me to Coaching, the thing that deeply changed me, and my life.  She was my coaching buddy and she had the most generous heart and infectious laugh.  She was my very first client and we inspired and encouraged each other as we progressed in our studies.

However, about 6 months into our journey things changed and Grace became unexpectedly ill.  On Saturday 19th April 2014 I ended up attending my friends funeral. Our friendship was oh so short, yet her impact in my life was immense.

Sometimes, people enter our lives for a very short period of time to act as a catalyst or to deposit something in us in order to take us to the next level of where we need to be.  Relationships are the most amazing things. Regardless of how immense a tree becomes, that potential was harnessed originally as a seed. A seed that looked no different to all the other seeds that clustered around it.

We are all seeds. No one knows or truly understands the impact we will have on a person’s life. Nor can we see the full potential of our lives.  That is all part of the beauty of Life’s journey, But as the quote states above ‘life is a journey not a destination’, that we pass through. Touching and impacting others, in many ways. For some its just through their presence as a baby or infant but as we grow older we then begin to decide how we do this.

Grace encouraged others to develop themselves by making the most of their gifts. People found them self naturally gravitating towards her, because she was always generous in heart and in spirit.

Friendships and relationships I never see as chance. I see them as purposeful.

So who has impacted your life in an unforgettable way?  Have you impacted anyone’s life and made a difference? The truth is you will not always be able to answer the second question but you can choose as Grace did to enable people to change their life in a positive way. This kind of give is unconditional. In other words its not about what you receive if anything. Its simply for the love of doing it.

I watched a documentary the other day about David Rudisha and his Coach.  A very unlikely sports coach as his first call was that of a missionary but his passion for sports gave birth to what grew into a school of excellence over the years. That not only benefited the local children in his community but produced some of the most famous long distance runners and Olympic athletes globally.  However, his relationship with David was unique and like no other.  For as important and instrumental as he was to David so David was as important to him. His name is Brother Colm O’Connell.

I am most grateful for my friendship with Grace.  Who knows who else I will meet along the way but I am looking forward to meeting more amazing people.

Who are you grateful for today? Who has been or still is awesome in your life? How about letting them know, because life is too short.

Be the change you want to be, until next time.

 

Aquene7 = Peace

 

 

About aquene7

I am a mother, a grandmother and Christian, all an essential part of who I am. I happened upon Blogging and found out how to mesh something I have done through out my life which was encouraging those who were friends and family and my love of writing. In doing my usual personal development I came in to the world of coaching and totally fell in love with it and I am currently studying to become a Personal Performance/Life Coach with The Coaching Academy. I absolutely love writing and thought this would be good way to combine these three passions in one place. I hope you find my blog does what it says on the tin, which is to encourage readers with positive and motivational posts:-) Update: 23/3/14: I finally decided to put a face to my blog:-)

Posted on July 27, 2014, in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Prompts – The Daily Post

You are what you think!! So being certain, being persistent and being focused brings change!!

Cynthia Reyes

The blog of Canadian author Cynthia Reyes

Glamorous Austa

Beauty, Style & Fashion

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

A frolic through fiction

Looking for all the small magics of the world

She Latitude

Books, book fashion and book reviews.

:: bookslayerReads ::

My Life in All Things Bookish

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

The Inner MIRROR

Meditations - Introspection - Random Realizations - Observations - Reflectios

HeideBlog

Random observations about writing, photography, travel, and life

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

