Blogging 101: Prompts – Leveraging My Productivity!

Photo – Alan Cleaver Flikr via Creative Commons

Writing

Prompts….never considered the word or the meaning before today’s challenge but once again, it has made me think differently about how to write. It has moved me outside of my comfortable and familiar box of how I think creatively, and brought me into a new space.

Prompts? “What are they for me?, “How can I?’ and “How will I use them?”

The word itself has a number of meanings depending on the context of how it’s used, but my focus is on the following definition of the word:-

  • To move, to act; to spur; incite
  • To give rise to; inspire
  • To assist; To cue, To remind

www,freedictionary.com

Blogging 101 has certainly be ‘a spur’ in my writing,which has made such a difference. It has increased my productivity and in so doing raised the number of Followers and hits received.  This has, in fact been my most productive month in every way. Which has shown me that I can do more than I thought I could, even with a busy working day and all the other norms I have going on, making demands in my life at various levels. Just by being more flexible – waking up earlier and using my a.m. time differently or using my lunchtime not just for eating.  Makes me think of that wonderful bit of wisdom people throw out at times as an encouragement , which depending on its timing is either welcomed or frowned up.

Nothing ventured, nothing gained!

A prompt is anything you see it as for yourself, that cause you to do something.  It’s the ‘opportunity’ you see. The more prompts I see and recognise as a reason to respond back to in my writings, can only be a good thing. Because it widens the topics I can cover and broadens me as a person and a writer.

Prompts can apply to anything in your life really. “What would increase your productivity in work?” “In your business?”, etc.

The key is, that its inspiring. It takes you into something new, but as pointed out for blogging, you need to anchor it somehow, so you don’t go off in a tangent. Prompts are good, but don’t lose sight or focus of what’s fundamental to you. (Note to self 🙂

So now, I will be look at things differently for the purpose of my writing. If something jumps out at me, I will ask myself why? ‘What has it triggered in me? And instead of just leaving it there as a thought, I will explore the fact of writing something.

I hope you are encouraged as I am in my writing, exploring change and being the change you want to be in this world.

 

Until next time.

 

Aquene7

Posted on September 30, 2014, in Blogging 101 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Well, I kept writing until I satiated all that needed to be on paper, then recently had them published. Wishing you all the best on your writing journey 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Glamorous Austa

Beauty, Style & Fashion

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

A frolic through fiction

Looking for all the small magics of the world

She Latitude

Books, book fashion and book reviews.

:: bookslayerReads ::

My Life in All Things Bookish

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

The Inner MIRROR

Meditations - Introspection - Random Realizations - Observations - Reflectios

HeideBlog

Random observations about writing, photography, travel, and life

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

Sabiscuit's Catalog

I can't eat biscuits, but I have a better idea ...

