What’s In A Name – Part 1?

In blogging, writing, marketing and business the name you choose or heading you give something is key. As bloggers you know that the title you give your post is an important aspect, because it grabs the reader’s attention and likewise feeds into ‘Search Engine Optimisation’ (SEO), not that I can say I really understand all that:-)

In marketing the name you give a product could be the making or breaking of it. Whilst in business terms you work hard to build a name and its brand. Equally, you work hard  protect that name in order to bring it to a place where that name and brand is recognised and means something.

When a name or brand reaches a particular level or status in recognition, it then is able to bring status, recognition and wealth to anyone or anything it endorses.

So ‘What is in a name?’ I would say everything is in a name.

Names are important.  That was the lesson in my devotional time this morning (which I will go into in Part 2 of this post). In our modern, western cultures we do not seem give much focus to the names we choose these days as other cultures who take naming a child as a very special moment, even having ‘Naming ceremonies.’  Now don’t get me wrong, I am not saying we give no thought to the matter, as I know people do.  As a new mum to be, I recognised naming my baby was an important thing. So with the understanding I had at the time I felt i chose sensibly.  In fact I had my first son’s name when I was only five months pregnant. I had not had a test to know what gender he was, I just knew he was a boy and I did not want a common or popular name for him. The name I gave him in the end was unusual at the time.  My friend really liked the name too, and when she found out she was going to have a  baby she felt she would give a name that was similar in sound to her baby if it was a boy and she also had a girl’s name just in case.  So I named my son with limited knowledge at the time, as I did not know what the name I decided on meant. All I knew was I liked it when I heard it and it was unusual. His middle name was taken from his great-grandfather and chosen by his great-grandmother at the time.  Of course I did the old test because for me all the names had to flow with his family name:-)  All names had to work with each other.  So there was love and thought, but I can’t say I looked at him in his early moments and decided on a name that reflected him and his personality.

This subject really intrigued me and I felt I just had to ask my mother how she decided on my name.  After all these years, (for I am no spring chicken!) it suddenly dawned on me to be curious about my own name? So I asked her as I took her to church, and she said exactly the same thing as I did. She chose my first name because she liked it and it was different for her as she had not heard it before in her day. As for my middle name she laughed and said it was because of the queen.  I thought that was so funny, but she said ‘why not have a Royal name in the family’. Now, I have never looked at my name in that way. It was just my name and that was that. (Another piece of the puzzle shared about myself:-) God never ceases to amaze me, in that we are never too old to learn and therefore, never too old to ask questions and be curious.

So I looked into my names and what they meant, and I was really surprised to see how much I aligned with my Name or my Name aligned with me. So I looked into the names I gave my son’s and I could see similarities there too.

So why is any of this important? I think it’s about mindfulness of things on a spiritual and natural level and how they relate even when you do not focus on them specifically.  My devotional time reminded me of  the importance in choosing a name in relation to purpose because the two are linked and the names we choose are important.  Whether for our children, business or projects we set up. Likewise, just as a name is important in a positive sense so it is in a negative sense.  Incorrect names and labels can also shape us. Some people do change their names when they feel it doesn’t align with who they are or what they see for their future. Some people change their names as a way to disconnect with their past, the sign of a new beginning.

So how do you feel about names? Do you see it as important regarding the names you choose for anything? Does your name align with the kind of person you are? Would be interesting to here?

Until next time, continue to be the change you want to be.

Aquene7

 

 

About aquene7

I am a mother, a grandmother and Christian, all an essential part of who I am. I happened upon Blogging and found out how to mesh something I have done through out my life which was encouraging those who were friends and family and my love of writing. In doing my usual personal development I came in to the world of coaching and totally fell in love with it and I am currently studying to become a Personal Performance/Life Coach with The Coaching Academy. I absolutely love writing and thought this would be good way to combine these three passions in one place. I hope you find my blog does what it says on the tin, which is to encourage readers with positive and motivational posts:-) Update: 23/3/14: I finally decided to put a face to my blog:-)

Posted on November 17, 2014, in Faith & Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Prompts – The Daily Post

You are what you think!! So being certain, being persistent and being focused brings change!!

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Glamorous Austa

Beauty, Style & Fashion

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

A frolic through fiction

Looking for all the small magics of the world

She Latitude

Books, book fashion and book reviews.

:: bookslayerReads ::

My Life in All Things Bookish

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

The Inner MIRROR

Meditations - Introspection - Random Realizations - Observations - Reflectios

HeideBlog

Random observations about writing, photography, travel, and life

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

