A Life Without Colour – Isn’t Life!

One of the things they encourage you do in order keep your blogging alive is to find various ways to inspire your thoughts – prompts! Some people have a jar filled with pieces of paper with words, single sentences, themes, etc., to act as triggers for their writing.

I came across this photo and totally loved it! It evoked so many thoughts for me, as my eyes danced from one feather to the other. Studying, comparing and examining each one.  It was like a long, cool drink for my eyes, because I absolutely adore colour:-)

feather-886785_1280

No feather is perfect.  They are all damaged in some way simply because they are by nature fragile and delicate.  A bit like people.

They reminded me of a very special day in my life when I had gone to a retreat in support of a dear friend of mine who was having a very difficult time in her life. It was a Christian Retreat, and one of the ministries they ran there was in Arts & Crafts. They had an art room that contained various types of paints, pastels, crayons, charcoal, etc.  It was very cluttered and aged with years of use, with splashes of paint all over the place – far from being a pristine space. There were props of many types and exhibits of artwork people had completed and left behind, was now pinned, in no particular order on the walls.

As I looked on the table I saw a sea shell that caught my eye, so I sat down and got my self some paper and started to draw its outline using charcoal.  I had not sat down and drawn anything for years, since Secondary school in fact.  Art was one of my best subjects but I didn’t focus on it and when I left school I left my art world behind me.

The room was quiet and cold because it was winter time.  I was the only one in there, well that’s what you would think. But spiritually I was far from being on my own. I came to the retreat as I said, to support my friend.  As far as I was concerned, I was fine and life was in a good enough space at that time.

I paid a lot of attention to the shell, ensuring I captured its shape, any shading shadows or elements of light, its swirling patterns, etc.  Parts of the shell were complex, but I focused on doing my best.  Then I heard a question clearly arise in me. ‘Why are you only using black charcoal? “ Does it have no colour? So I looked at the shell again and clearly it had colour, beautiful pastel colours of pinks and white. So I started to add colour to my drawing.  As I worked on it I then heard a voice inside once again saying ‘that is you’. The Holy Spirit adds colour to your life.  I then thought about me and at that time I lived in clothes that were predominantly, black and dark.  Rarely, would I buy something that was pink, red, orange or yellow.  I knew why.  it was because I wasn’t happy with me.  I wanted to blend in and colour drew attention, and I so did not want that.

‘Why are you only using black charcoal? “ Does it have no colour?

It was a very profound moment for me, and I must admit the tears fell at that moment of realisation. I was not living my life true to me.  You see I loved colour and I always loved creativity from I was a child, but I stopped acknowledging it.  However, from that day, my life changed and colour is now always in my day, because I wear it! In fact, I actively seek it in my clothes and in things for my home.

You see God cares about all of you and I believe he is very practical in how he relates to you. Who knew I was also in need of healing?  There was another ‘ahah!! moment for me on that retreat but that’s another story 🙂

Who knew I was also in need of healing?

I know many women hide in one way or the other behind their clothes. But I would like to encourage anyone who has reduced or eliminated colour from their life to seek a way to bring it back.  I have always shunned the limit light and being center stage.  Comfort was to be the one at the back or the one lost in the crowd.

But not anymore.  Now its just about a focus and determined mind and doing what needs to be done.  Its funny, by recognising the importance of colour in my life that day I recovered a part of me. A part I was hiding and no longer acknowledging.

It’s funny how we try to strip colour from our life, as nature is the greatest display of colour. In nature colour is important, it shares a language that is not spoken but displayed.   Life isn’t life without vibrant colour reflecting through it.

It’s important to be true to yourself always.

Be the change you want to be, until next time.

 

Aquene7 – Peace

About aquene7

I am a mother, a grandmother and Christian, all an essential part of who I am. I happened upon Blogging and found out how to mesh something I have done through out my life which was encouraging those who were friends and family and my love of writing. In doing my usual personal development I came in to the world of coaching and totally fell in love with it and I am currently studying to become a Personal Performance/Life Coach with The Coaching Academy. I absolutely love writing and thought this would be good way to combine these three passions in one place. I hope you find my blog does what it says on the tin, which is to encourage readers with positive and motivational posts:-) Update: 23/3/14: I finally decided to put a face to my blog:-)

Posted on August 15, 2015, in Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a wonderful story that you have, everyone is like a feather, a unique feather 🙂 just like you said

    Like

Leave a Reply

Prompts – The Daily Post

You are what you think!! So being certain, being persistent and being focused brings change!!

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Glamorous Austa

Beauty, Style & Fashion

Purplerays

spiritual enlightenment and self improvement

Real as the Streets

Faithfully Authentic

A frolic through fiction

Looking for all the small magics of the world

She Latitude

Books, book fashion and book reviews.

:: bookslayerReads ::

My Life in All Things Bookish

The Write Stuff

"Writers Helping Writers" with Marcia Meara & Friends

The Inner MIRROR

Meditations - Introspection - Random Realizations - Observations - Reflectios

HeideBlog

Random observations about writing, photography, travel, and life

unbolt me

the literary asylum

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

