Writer’s Corner (6) – Add Some Drama!

New Bloggers

Welcome to another post on my tips to new bloggers in he world of blogging. These are just helpful pointers to building and shaping your blog into how you want it to appear for your readers.

Making your page interesting is key in a world where all we do is scroll and scroll and scroll. I think scrolling is like driving. You can so easily miss key points of interests on your journey – one because your focus is ahead, therefore alot is missed as your focus is not in all the visual information around you, but mainly on what keeps you safe and what informs your direction. The majority of any other information is overlooked. Likewise, great posts can be missed simply because they have merged or blended into all the other posts because nothing has jumped out for the reader or met a specific interest. Therefore your title is the first point of contact for readers who have not built up a relationship with your blog. Therefore, like a news headline think about the titles you give your posts.

Once your post is clicked on, you then want the content to hold a person’s attention. This is not done with endless writing. So make the most of WordPress’ Add Block and add points of interests to your posts.

1. Pull Quote

The biggest adventure you can take is to live the life of your dreams.

Oprah Winfrey

As you can see you can also change font colours and main colours if you wish.

2. Tiled Gallery

This is great for those who love photography or you have a series of photos you would like to be viewed together. As with Pull Quote, you are given various choices within the tool to decide how you want your chosen pics to to be seen. The pics above have been used in past posts I have written and are in my library.

3. Post Carousel

Once again inside the tool you have options to on how you want the display to look and if you want it to be static and moved manually with the scroll arrows or to move automatically as above.

4. Classic

This is the original tool bar that WordPress had before launching the current block style and Add Block. If you are not a fan of this new layout and prefer the original tool set then you can access it via Add Block. It is under the Text Area and looks like a key board.

By selecting this it allows you to choose which style or layout you prefer.

Well these are my few tips for today.

Happy blogging everyone, until my next post!

Do feed back if you find The Writer’s Corner Series helpful?

Gloria (Aquene7)

About aquene7

I am a mother, a grandmother and Christian, all an essential part of who I am. I happened upon Blogging and found out how to mesh something I have done through out my life which was encouraging those who were friends and family and my love of writing. In doing my usual personal development I came in to the world of coaching and totally fell in love with it and I am currently studying to become a Personal Performance/Life Coach with The Coaching Academy. I absolutely love writing and thought this would be good way to combine these three passions in one place. I hope you find my blog does what it says on the tin, which is to encourage readers with positive and motivational posts:-) Update: 23/3/14: I finally decided to put a face to my blog:-)

Posted on April 12, 2021, in Writer's Corner and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ebitimi Creates

    Great Tips!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Celly Hikes

Some of my Favorite Hikes..... Some of my Favorite Books!

FULL OF ROSES INSPIRATIONALS

Christian inspirational photography and poetry

Bombay Ficus

Running, Writing, Real Life Experiences & Relatable Content.

drama_and_diaries

Unleashing the beauty of creativity

Dirty Sci-Fi Buddha

Musings and books from a grunty overthinker

ram H singhal

Journey of Creative Enlightenment

Must Have Solutions

Useful Information About Carefully Selected Consumer Products and Services

Rebecca Goes Rendezvous

Looking for that next adventure in the world

Ellie Turns the Page

Reading and reviewing the latest books

Nin Chronicles

May the Words Flow

Experiments in Fiction

Dedicated Publisher of Fiction, Poetry & Memoir

Commission Legendary

Turn Your Passion Into Business

Andrea, Children’s Book Illustrator

Children's book illustrator